Readify

Jackie Lemanczyk Testifies Against Great Benefit

The Rainmaker

Jackie Lemancyzk’s testimony turns the Black family’s dispute with Great Benefit Life Insurance Company into evidence of a deliberate, year-long claims-denial experiment. Called unexpectedly during the trial, she described how she was dismissed shortly before a scheduled deposition and testified that the insurer denied claims as a matter of policy in 1991, even when they were legitimate. Her account linked the handling of Donny Ray Black’s claim to a system that she said generated roughly forty million dollars by counting on customers to give up rather than seek legal help.

From missing witness to surprise appearance

Rudy Baylor learned that Lemancyzk was available to testify through Peter Corsa, a Cleveland lawyer representing her in employment-related matters. The connection came after a lawyer from Cleveland called the office; Baylor, concerned that his conversations might be monitored, ended the call and contacted the lawyer separately. Corsa explained that Lemancyzk had not returned to southern Indiana, as Great Benefit Life Insurance Company executive Richard Pellrod had claimed. She was still in Cleveland, living at an unlisted number and keeping out of sight.

Lemancyzk had worked for Great Benefit Life Insurance Company for six years. She had risen to senior claims examiner, the only woman to reach that position, before being demoted after ending a relationship with the vice president of claims. She told Baylor that workplace sexual harassment and discriminatory treatment affected her career, pay, and standing in the claims department. Her employment account provided important context for why the company might want to distance itself from her and why she was reluctant to become a public witness.

She also had direct knowledge of the Black claim. Baylor spoke with her by telephone, and she agreed to come to Memphis despite being frightened and emotionally fragile. He arranged to cover her travel expenses. Her appearance was not announced to the opposing lawyers in advance, although she had been listed as a potential witness in the pretrial order. When Baylor called her to the stand after questioning Everett Lufkin, Great Benefit’s lawyers reacted with visible surprise. Lufkin, who had been walking out of the courtroom, stopped and then left. The sudden shift placed the company’s claims department under questioning through one of its own former employees.

The firing and the alleged cover-up

On the witness stand, Lemancyzk disputed the company’s account that she had resigned for personal reasons. She testified that she had been fired on October 3, two days before a deposition scheduled for October 5, and that the resignation letter was false. According to her account, Jack Underhall, an in-house lawyer, gave her a choice: leave with nothing while the departure was called a firing, or sign a resignation letter and receive ten thousand dollars in cash. She said she accepted the money while under pressure, signed an agreement not to discuss claims files, and was not allowed to keep a copy.

Lemancyzk told the court that she later consulted a lawyer, who advised her that the agreement was illegal. She also testified that her dismissal was connected to her involvement with Donny Ray Black’s claim and the prospect of giving a deposition. The company, she said, wanted it to appear that she no longer worked there. Her testimony made the resignation letter more than a disputed employment document: it became part of an account of efforts to remove a knowledgeable employee and limit what she could disclose about the Black file.

Her account of workplace misconduct also broadened the context of the firing. She described sexual harassment by company executives and said that women in the claims department could face professional consequences for refusing sexual advances. She testified that after she sought help, the company continued to dispute a claim for treatment under her own group policy. In cross-examination, she acknowledged that she hated the insurer, but denied that personal anger was the reason she came to court. She presented herself as a witness to practices affecting thousands of policyholders, while openly acknowledging her struggles with alcoholism and depression and her recent voluntary treatment. Her candor left the jury to weigh both her vulnerabilities and the specific evidence she supplied.

The 1991 denial experiment

Lemancyzk testified that Great Benefit Life Insurance Company’s practice in 1991 was to deny every claim initially. The company would later review some smaller claims and pay some of those that appeared legitimate, but, in her account, large claims were not paid unless a lawyer became involved. She described the policy as a twelve-month experiment, beginning January 1, 1991, under which claims over one thousand dollars were denied regardless of their merits; some smaller claims were also denied if the company could find an arguable reason.

She estimated that the experiment produced about forty million dollars in additional profit. Her explanation supplied the economic logic of the practice: the company expected that only a small fraction of policyholders would consult lawyers. The estimate she gave was about one in twenty-five. That expectation matched the broader problem Max Leuberg had described to Baylor earlier: low-income customers with inexpensive debit insurance were less likely to challenge a denial, and only a small proportion of bad-faith denials ended in court.

The testimony also explained how the Black claim came to be treated as especially sensitive. Lemancyzk said the claim was initially denied like the others, but its large value and Donny Ray’s diagnosis of acute leukemia drew additional attention. She testified that Russell Krokit monitored her handling of the file and that company personnel discovered the policy did not exclude bone marrow transplants. Donny Ray’s medical records, she said, made clear that the leukemia would return and would ultimately be fatal without the transplant. She had shown the medical information to Krokit, who took it to Lufkin; nevertheless, the denial continued. In her account, the company knew both that the treatment was needed and that its policy did not exclude it, but relied on the chance that the family would not find a lawyer.

Lemancyzk described a different response once an attorney became involved. A legitimate claim under five thousand dollars might be paid promptly with an apology. Larger claims went to supervisors, and claims facing a lawsuit or an imminent lawsuit could lead to confidential settlements. This distinction connected the insurer’s internal process to the practical imbalance facing policyholders: a denial could remain in place unless a claimant obtained legal representation and made the cost of resistance visible to the company.

Effect on the trial

The testimony followed Dot Black’s reading of seven denial letters, including the insulting letter that became known as the Stupid Letter. Lemancyzk’s evidence gave the jury an account of how such contradictory and shifting explanations could arise within the claims process, while explaining why an initial denial did not necessarily reflect a careful determination that a claim was uncovered. It also supplied a motive and a pattern: the Black file was not, in her account, an isolated administrative mistake but one claim within a planned experiment.

Baylor ended his questioning by offering Lemancyzk to the defense. Leo Drummond’s cross-examination raised her resentment toward the company and her recent treatment, but it also brought those circumstances before the jury alongside her reason for testifying. She insisted that the central issue was the truth about how policyholders had been treated. After she left the stand, Baylor thanked her and arranged for Deck Shifflet to drive her to the airport. He asked for an early lunch recess so the jurors would have time to absorb her account.

The disclosure became part of the larger evidentiary story Baylor presented: the denial letters, missing Section U material from the claims manuals, internal procedures, and testimony about the insurer’s finances. In his closing argument, he used Lemancyzk’s testimony and the company’s statistical figures to explain the 1991 scheme as a plan to deny legitimate claims for a year and measure the resulting savings. The jury later also saw Donny Ray’s recorded deposition, which made the human consequence of the claims process visible alongside the documents and corporate figures. Lemancyzk’s testimony did not stand alone, but it supplied the insider explanation that joined those pieces into a coherent account of policy, concealment, and harm.

Significance

Lemancyzk’s appearance changed the evidentiary stakes of the trial. Before she testified, the case already contained the Black family’s account and a series of denial letters; afterward, the jury had heard from a former claims examiner who described the company’s alleged instructions, the handling of the Black file, and the financial purpose of the larger policy. Her testimony also exposed the distance between the insurer’s formal explanations and the practice she said operated behind them.

The event brings together the case’s central conflicts: an insured family confronting a wealthy company, a terminally ill claimant whose treatment was denied, and a claims system that allegedly depended on customers lacking the resources or confidence to fight back. Lemancyzk’s own employment history made her a vulnerable witness, but also placed her inside the department whose conduct was at issue. By appearing despite the risks she described, she made the company’s internal account available to the jury and helped turn a dispute over one policy into a challenge to Great Benefit Life Insurance Company’s broader claims practices.